AAC (Hi-Quality) (44k)
MP3 (56k | 128k)
New in the KUCI Punk Library
May 29, 2014
by: Tommy DeSilva

Only Crime – Pursuance – [Rise Records]
Only Crime is a 5 piece Melodic Hardcore band that features well-known punk rockers Russ Rankin (Good Riddance), Bill Stevenson (The Descendents/ALL/Black Flag), and Aaron Dalbec (Bane). After taking an extended break from the studio (7 years), the band reunited to record Pursuance, which is a fast paced and hard edged album that is characterized by a unique mix of aggression and melody. While their sound is unique, the listener can pick out sounds taken from many well-known ‘80s punk such as Black Flag, The Adolescents, and Minor Threat. The band’s sound can also be compared to that of current melodic hardcore bands such as Rise Against, Comeback Kid, and Strike Anywhere. Tracks to definitely check out on this record include; “We Are Divided,” “One Last Breath,” “No Truth In Love,” and “Life Was Fair.” If you like what you hear on this album, definitely be on the lookout for when Only Crime heads out on tour in the fall.

Bane –– Don't Wait Up – [Equal Vision Records]
Bane is 5 piece hardcore band from Worcester, MA. Their new album Don’t Wait Up is a fast paced and aggressive record that is characterized by gang vocals, heavy breakdowns, and heart felt lyrics. Bane is very important band within the hardcore scene that has influenced many other well-known hardcore bands such as Have Heart, Rotting Out, and Down To Nothing. With this being their last album, the band will be truly missed within the hardcore scene. Tracks to definitely check out on this record include; “Non-Negotiable,” “All the Way Through,” “What Awaits Us Now,” and “Final Backward Glance.” If you have never seen Bane live before, you have one last chance to see them when they play at Chain Reaction in Anaheim on June 6th.

Me First And The Gimme Gimmes – Are We Not Men? We Are Diva! – [Fat Wreck Chords]
Me First And The Gimme Gimmes are a 5 piece Punk Rock supergroup/cover band that features Spike Slawson (Ex-Swingin’ Utters) on vocals, Fat Mike (NOFX) on bass, Chris Shiflett (Foo Fighters, Ex-No Use For A Name) on lead guitar, Joey Cape (Lagwagon/Bad Astronaut) on rhythm guitar, and Dave Raun (Lagwagon) on drums. If you have never heard of The Gimme Gimmes, they are an awesome band who does punk rock covers of different classic songs. Their newest album Are We Not Men? We Are Diva! is a record full of punk rock versions of music made by Divas. While this may sound unusual, the band still manages to represent their punk rock roots while covering the likes of Gloria Gaynor, Cher, Christina Aguilera, Whitney Houston, and many more. Tracks to definitely check out on this album include; “I Will Survive,” “Beautiful,” “I Will Always Love You,” “Top Of The World,” and “On The Radio.” This album is definitely a way to satisfy your guilty music pleasures.



[ Home | About KUCI | Contact | Alumni Pages | Photo Gallery | Schedule | CD Reviews | Listening Help | Articles | Hosts | Links ]

KUCI is brought to you by the University of California, Irvine